Strangest One Star Michelin Dinner – Ever!

All right, maybe I’m jaded, but I just had a fantastic dinner – GREAT flavors, composition and taste – perhaps one of the best ever. And (I hear you comment ) still you complain.

You be the judge:

I order “Sot l’y Laisse Confits, Copeaux de Foie Gras de Canard” (<-menu description)

It is described as Chicken “oysters” with foie gras. I happen to know a chef who calls the shoulder muscles behind the wings of a chicken “oysters”, so I think I know what to expect. The waiter confirms this guess.

When my calamare arrives I’m surprised, but not disappointed. I love calamare – especially when it is beautifully cooked to tender perfection. Underneath it is the rest of the dish as described – so I’m doubly happy.

I order: “Piece de Cochon Iberique, Jus de Poivre de Penja, Champignons et Junes Legumes”. My French is terrible, so when I ordered I referred to it as the Spanish Ham with mushrooms and vegetables. Again confirmed by the waiter. “Legumes” has me thinking beans, but it could mean just vegetables, What do I know?

What came looked and tasted like rare beef, with a long curly black hair in the Spinach. I didn’t eat the hair, but everything else was delicious – if deliciously wrong! I photographed the hair, showed it to my table companion, placed it on the table cloth and ask the waiter to clean my eating area. As the balding man removed the hair I told him where I found it. He said “it isn’t mine.” I said it’s not mine either – wrong color, wrong length. That was it!

I ordered, “Tartelette de Fraises et Rhubarbe, Sorbet Fraises,” and actually got served a fantastic dessert matching that ingredient description. It was Wonderful!

To set the background – I was not paying for the dinner, and I did not complain (other than as reported above.) So – what would you have done in my place? Remember, this place has a Michelin star.

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in dessert, dessert, food, tourism and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Strangest One Star Michelin Dinner – Ever!

  1. shamtest says:

    I can’t seem to fully load this post from my smartphone!

Leave a Reply

