Snow Day!

There is something about the total freedom a snow day brings. All the chores, all the promised errands, and all the responsibilities of adulthood are put on hold. You are snowed-in. Nothing you can do about it but relax and enjoy it.

I anticipated today’s freedom and made some clever preparations I want to share. First – I went to the hardware store and bought a handrail and mounting brackets. Our staircase has never had a railing, but with siatica and nerve damage in my legs, I thought it was time. The image of me falling down the stairs, and – like Humpty Dumpty – never getting put back together again, has haunted me since I tripped last week. Close call!

So – in the “Fool me once . . .” dept, I cut and measured in the barn last night, and this morning put up the railing. But not before breakfast!

I was on a roll last night. I sliced the 3 weekold Christmas panetone leftovers and made a strata by pouring a pint of heavy cream and five eggs over it. This morning it went in the oven @ 350 degrees for 50 minutes, rested for 10 minutes, then became a yummy breakfast. I had to fry some bacon to serve with it, but restrained myself from also cooking sausage. Too bad! The sausage would have been better (not better FOR me) but better tasting.

While I was cooking dinner last night I also fried some ground chuck and chicken thighs for today’s tomato sauce. A few peppers, onions, some garlic & celery & mushrooms later, and I had a slow cooker filled with the makings of a great red sauce. I used the “good” canned tomatoes, the ones imported from Italy. Then added anchovie and tomato paste and a dried, mildly hot pepper. A bit of red wine, some salt and it cooked itself to perfection all night. It filled the kitchen with a great homey aroma which made looking out the windows at the 10 inches of snow bearable.

OH – the snow plow just came, reality (and the whole world) intrudes. I’ll  get out of my sweats and into something I can shovel snow in. Then rake the roof, carry in more firewood and begin the last fun event of the day. We are going to play in the kitchen this afternoon making pasta! (DUH! What did you think the sauce was for?)

I’ll get to use my new pasta machine and the stone-ground semolina picked up at the local mill I visited when I toured Dutchess County Farms with the CIA folks. I’ll even use the recipe they gave me when I was cooking there.

Snowdays! I only have the luxury of enjoying them once or twice a year. As you can see, I try to make the most of them!  I hope you and yours are safe and warm today.

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

