Prescient and Persevering – My Culinary Writing

On January 6th, 2011 I declared 2011 is The Year of the Pie. It was so, although the cupcake did pretty well too. Probably 2012 is the year of the Cupcake, if the Grilled Cheese Sandwich doesn’t beat it out as most referenced food.

On December 17th 2009 I published Richard Frisbie :: Braised Turkey finally giving my recipe for Thanksgiving dinner because so many people asked for it. Cover of Savuer magazine this month? (Oct 2011) You guessed it – Braised Turkey.

On November 1, 2010 Thomas Keller invites me into his kitchen at Per Se Thomas Keller – a Relais & Châteaux Grands Chefs Cookbook Launch – Lunch at Per Se It was just named the best restaurant in New York City. Some would say the United States! (I had NOTHING to do with that!)

On September 27th 2010 I published RICHARD FRISBIE :: A Classic French Terrine Reborn This week terrines are officially declared part of the current charcuterie craze.

On July 9, & August 23, 2007 and again on July 14, 2010 I published articles on a pilgrimage in Spain. RICHARD FRISBIE – from Bilbao to Pamploma . . . On the Road to St James – A Pilgrimage On Oct 7th,  2011, Martin Sheen’s new movie (written, directed and costarring his son) THE WAY opens in theaters. It is all about finding what is lost on the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela.

In 1994 I wrote about ebooks in Paperless Publishing (circa 1994) book review and the coming of ebook readers. In 2011 Amazon announced that for the first time digital book sales exceeded printed book sales. (a non-culinary aside – I’ve been right about things other than food, too.)

January 3, 2010 I published a Tapas article RICHARD FRISBIE :: Frugal New Year’s Entertaining about the 3rd tapas party in two years I’ve given. This was all preceded by my December 20, 2007 RICHARD FRISBIE :: Tapas Judge in Zaragoza This year seemingly every restaurant offers tapas. Some offer only Tapas.

On June 20, 2007 I experienced an incredible meal and published RICHARD FRISBIE – test tubes, pipettes & liquid oxygen. I went on to write several articles about the originator of this cooking method, August 7, 2010 21st Century Gastronomy: A Multidisciplinary Subject. Today Ferran Adria (of El Bulli fame) is in all the news and his molecular cooking an extraordinary craze.

September 8, 2008 I “jumped on” the oh-so-current locavore craze with my From Farm to Table :: The new way to eat There were many other articles, either preceding or precipitating our current love of local farms: August 20, 2008 RICHARD FRISBIE :: Farm Feast, June 7, 2008 RICHARD FRISBIE :: Following Fromage From Farm to Feast.

So start looking for risotto to be BIG after my April 2, 2009 article RICHARD FRISBIE :: When Risotto is a Main Course, and for raclette to surface after my February 20, 2009 RICHARD FRISBIE :: Planning a Winter Doldrums Party (Raclette) And my May 6, 2011 article may also prove prescient The Latest Culinary Craze: Edible Books in Spain but I think it is more of a fad.

No matter what, I’ve proven that readers can count on me to seek out and identify today what culinary trends will be “all the news” tomorrow, or next year. I hope you subscribe to my writings and keep on reading!

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in Culinary, dessert, dessert, Entertainment, food, Food Fads, free lance writer, Pop Culture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

