Hope Farm Press April 2012 NY Books Newsletter

Hope Farm Press April 2012 NY Books Newsletter

2012 April Vol XIV Issue IV

New York State Books Newsletter

from Richard Frisbie of Hope Farm Press

*************************

 

  FROM THE EDITOR

Finally – I’m buckling down to focus on my business and my major interests. The last month or two were very hectic. A co-worker at the bakery had pregnancy leave so I replaced him (that’s right – we’re progressive!!) and ended up working everyday for far too many weeks. At the same time I became the Hudson Valley and Catskill Mountain guide for examiner.com. That means I’m responsible for being the expert on the region (which in many respects I am) writing about all the things to do and places to visit in the region – and what a huge region it is!

I began with a comprehensive history of the region up to present time (in about 700 words!)

http://www.examiner.com/hudson-valley-catskills-in-new-york/from-the-beginning-the-hudson-river-and-catskill-mountains-history and have been adding information to the list since then. There are 27 articles there already (whew!) I’d be pleased if you’d follow my writings on the area. Just click on the above link and have a great time reading and learning.

 

I’m still doing everything else, but manage to be in the shop most afternoons from 3 to 5 to answer mail and fill orders. Books come in that I am slowly (very slowly) adding to my database. If you can’t find it online – don’t worry – I probably have it in stock or on order. Just shoot me an email and I’ll let you know. My website, http://www.hopefarmbooks.com, is open 24/7. I still have a difficult schedule, especially with my bakery & examiner hours. The books are still here (or on order) but I’m not. Please make the digital, virtual shop work as much as possible. Your patience with me is appreciated. Thank you!

******************

There are still a few left at this SALE price! To celebrate the 4th anniversary of reprinting Picturesque Catskills by De Lisser, it is on sale for $19.95 – that’s $10 off the list price – you’ll find it listed here:

http://www.hopefarmbooks.com/product_info.php/pName/picturesque-catskills-delisser-2007-edition

but the sale ends soon – so hurry!

******************

 

NEW BOOKS

FIRE ISLAND – Heroes & Villains on Long Island’s Wild Shore $16.99

The Bronx River – An Environmental & Social History $19.99

LENGENDS AND LORE of Sleepy Hollow and the Hudson River Valley $19.99

Haunted Southern Tier $14.99

Haunted Mohawk Valley $19.99

Myths, Legends & Lore – Central New York & The Finger Lakes 19.99

Those are all paperbacks of 100+ pages or so with b&w illus

 

FADING ADS of New York City – $24.99 – a full-color, hardcover look at the popular billboards and advertisements once painted on the sides of buildings and now fading away. A glossy, illustrated history of a wilder time in Manhattan and surrounds. NICE!

**********************

PRICE INCREASE

Most of the books on Orange County have increased by .50 cents to $1 and I still haven’t changed the price on my website. I DID, however, manage to fix the PayPal button so it appears and works now for everyone. (OR IT SHOULD!) Let me know, please, if you continue to have trouble with it.

Kinship (genealogy) is upgrading its books from plastic bound and spiral bound to perfect bound (like every other paperback!) as the new ones come out I receive them, but the website may still say spiral. That will slowly change, also.

**********************

Visit Hope Farm Press & Bookshop on facebook –

http://tinyurl.com/yzj498p

 

Well, that’s all for now. Thank you again for your indulgence and attention. To unsubscribe simply send me an e-mail from the address you are subscribed under with Unsubscribe in the Subject line.

Richard

– –

Richard Frisbie

dba Hope Farm Press & Bookshop

15 Jane Street Saugerties NY 12477

http://www.hopefarm.com    hopefarm@hopefarm.com

Specializing in New York State Books since 1959

Secure & up-to-date shopping-cart http://www.hopefarmbooks.com

Follow me on twitter – http://www.twitter.com/richard_frisbie

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in historic preservation, New York History Books, tourism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hope Farm Press April 2012 NY Books Newsletter

  1. back linking says:

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?

  2. Kole Flick says:

    A round of applause for your blog post.Thanks Again. Keep writing.

  3. Kinship (genealogy) is upgrading its books from plastic bound and spiral bound to perfect bound (like every other paperback!) as the new ones come out I receive them, but the website may still say spiral. That will slowly change, also.

  4. Thank you for your blog article.Thanks Again. Really Cool.

Leave a Reply

