2014 begins with hope

And by  ‘hope’ I mean Hope Farm Press & Bookshop. My 55 yr old publishing company/book store specializing in New York State books has been getting short shrift over the last year while I spent more time cooking and pursuing my culinary travel interests than selling books. I intend to change that.

My monthly book newsletter, which I sent out faithfully for 13 years, only got emailed 3 times in 2013. My website www.hopefarmbooks.com is open 24/7. Not so my bookshop, which is supposed to be open every afternoon when I finish at the bakery, but only opened for an hour or so daily, if it opened at all.

It turns out that getting up at 4:30 a.m. to open Hudson Valley Dessert Company often left me too tired to stay awake afternoons in the bookshop. After my head hit the keyboard a few times I would close and take a nap. That was good for my overall well-being, but bad for business.

I catalogue 2500 NY-centric titles and stock approximately half of them at any given time. That is a lot of inventory to invest in when I’m not actually selling many books. Things have to change.

This time last year I reduced my hours at the bakery to have more time to devote to my book selling. Then, my assistant cook got ill, my sous chef moved on, and a series of replacements were ultimately unsatisfactory for the job, leaving me to shoulder more work and work more hours.

The end result? A venerable book shop languishes, and loyal customers wonder if I’m still in business. Well, I am! This year I propose to turn over a new leaf, buckle down and (place all the other cliches you can think of here) attend to business.

If you hear of a title you want, know of any new books coming out or just want to see what I have, please visit my website and/or contact me here:

or call 800-883-5778 afternoons. (Please leave a message if the phone doesn’t wake me.)

Wishing you all a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year!

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in New York History Books, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

