Wrap it up! Easy lunch recipe with Mr. Singh’s Pesto

ingredients for a wrap

The wrap ingredients waiting to be used.

I love the idea of using wraps to hold a collection of leftovers to turn little bits of food into a delicious feast. You know what I mean – that last wedge of uncooked cabbage that wouldn’t fit into the corned beef pot for a St. Patrick’s dinner. Or the five slices of pork tenderloin you saved for a sandwich and forgot about. It’s those little bits and pieces of too-good-to-throw-out but too-little-to-eat food that is “just going bad in the refrigerator.” I save them up to make wraps for lunch on the weekends.

The key to a good wrap is having something to connect all the disparate elements and turn them into a savory unit of good food. Lately I’ve been using Mr Singh’s Punjabi Pesto to add a burst of spicy flavor as it wrangles the singular flavors into a whole. That and cottage cheese provide the moisture and the glue to make a good wrap.

(The all-natural ingredients in Mr Singh’s Punjabi Pesto make for a versatile spread and/or sauce that can be used anywhere you want great Indian flavor without too much heat. I’ve used it in stir-fry, soups and vegetable dips. It is especially nice when used to give some bland ingredients a flavor punch.)

In the pictures here, the top one shows the wrap spread with Mr. Singh’s Punjabi Pesto and the ingredients arranged around it just waiting to be assembled. There’s pork, green onions, cottage cheese and cabbage. (The pea sprouts are out of the picture.) To the side is a finished wrap waiting to be cooked.

I spread the cottage cheese on top of the pesto, and then arranged a few slices of pork in the center of the wrap. They got topped with green onions, cabbage and pea sprouts. A little salt and pepper – and – presto! – the wrap is ready to fold.mrsignspesto 002

One thing I can’t stand is the taste of raw flour. I know the wraps are already cooked, but I can’t get past the rawness factor, so I insist on grilling my wraps before eating them. Besides, it helps to bring all the different ingredients together when I cook the wraps. I use a Panini press to cook mine, but they could easily be weighted down and cooked in a frying pan, or simply baked.

The second picture shows the wraps cooked, looking good with their grill marks, and picking up extra flavor from the garlic salt I sprinkled on them and the aluminum foil they were cooked on. (I hate to clean my Panini press!)

There you have it – a great use for leftovers; one that makes them more elegant than a bunch of little bowls of food, and much easier to pick up and eat. If you don’t mind the extra calories (I do) you could sprinkle these with shredded cheese and pop them under the broiler for a real treat! YUM!

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in Culinary, food, Food Fads, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

