How to fix Windows 10 error message: “invalid IP configuration”

When Windows 10  could not get me connected to the internet the other day, troubleshooting showed me this reason: “Ethernet does not have a valid IP configuration” That really ticked me off! I erroneously thought that when Time Warner switched to become Spectrum they changed the IP settings. I was wrong. My computer screwed up all on its own, and I had to fix it. Here’s how I did it:

I went to my gurus (I’m fortunate to have great ones) – The Computer Guys – on Main Street in Saugerties, and told them the message. They immediately knew about this glitch with Windows 10. They gave me a printout of the steps to fix it.

So – when you run into this problem you’ll know what to do even if your gurus aren’t as smart as mine are.  It means being familiar with command prompts and some DOS to use the netsh.exe program, but – even without any knowledge of DOS – you can just follow these instructions and you’ll do fine. Note: the quotation marks are not typed, I used them to show you what you would see on the screen.

#1 – In the lower left corner of your screen click on the windows icon and scroll down to “Windows System”. Right click on “Command Prompt” then left click on “more” and finally on “Run as Administrator”.

#2 – at the C prompt “C:\WINDOWS\system32>” type:

netsh winsock reset catalog

and press (keyboard) ENTER

You’ll get “Successfully reset the winsock catalog. You must restart the computer in order to complete the task.” And another prompt – type:

netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

and press (keyboard) ENTER

You’ll get a whole list of resettings (not all will work) and another restart the computer message before a final prompt.

#3 – Close that box and restart your computer

That’s all there is to it. Be sure to use correct spelling and spacing and you’ll do fine.

I was connected to the internet as soon as the computer came back on.

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in computers, repairs, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

