Pandemic Scalloped Potato Recipe

 

cheese3

Held hostage by the virus pandemic, I’ve been experimenting with recipes as I try to use what is in my refrigerator before it goes bad. This dish of scalloped potatoes was a way to put a big dent in my leftover Easter ham, as well as soon to expire cheeses and dairy. So use what you have and leave out what you don’t. (You’ll need cheese, meat, potatoes and dairy – plus seasonings – or you need to call it something other than scalloped potatoes!)

I had 3 recipes out all day – and I read them every time I passed, thinking about combining the best parts of each – which I did. So let me get them all out again and reconstruct the scene of the crime for you.

cheese2

RECIPES: in photo, Ina Garten, Savour, Joy of Cooking

I decided to use the measurements and methods below, but you can look at the recipes and make your own decisions.

2 lbs potatoes – peeled, thinly sliced, parboiled in salted water 8 mins

 

1/2 to 3/4  cup each – three cheeses (your choice or see photo) mixed together

1 onion – diced

2 TBS flour

1 to 2 cups ham – diced (I used 2 cups)

 

4 TBS butter – plus butter to grease the dish

cheese

2 cups dairy (the richer the better – I used half & half)

½ TBS mustard – to taste (I used homemade strong German-style mustard)

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp salt

½ tsp freshly ground pepper

 

Heat oven to 350 degrees and liberally butter a 9x13x2 glass baking dish.

Scoop half the potatoes into the prepared baking dish. Level. Sprinkle half of the next 4 ingredients over top, dot with half of the butter – repeat.

Bring dairy to a simmer, add next four ingredients, stir to dissolve mustard.

Pour dairy into baking dish over potato mix. Bake for 45 – 60 minutes, or until desired brownness on top.

Let rest while you prepare a vegetable. Serve on warm plates.

ALTERNATE LAZY METHOD: Don’t parboil the potatoes, lay them out raw in three layers alternated with filling. Don’t heat the dairy, bake until potatoes are done and sufficiently browned. (It will take longer.)

ALTERNATE REALLY LAZY METHOD: Follow Ina Garten’s method of mixing all the ingredients together in a big bowl and just dump it into a  greased baking dish.

MAKES: Hearty dinner for four plus leftovers

ADDENDUM: There is room for a fennel bulb (cooked as in Ina Garten’s really delicious recipe) to be layered in as well, if you have one and like the taste.

There you have it – ENJOY!

 

About richardfrisbie

I'm a professional baker, reader, bookseller, publisher, columnist, photographer, cook, hiker, kayaker, freelance writer, and workaholic who likes to garden
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment